## March Is Social Work Month: The Social Work Lecture Series

## **Confirmed Times of Special Guests' Appearances**

## **REGISTER TODAY:**

## https://zoom.us/meeting/register/tJ0qdOCgqD4qHtL-jDryk9sXnsm w1mCfHZ4

9:30 am The Virtual History of Johnson C. Smith University School of Social Work

The Invocation

Dr. Kendal Mobley, Assistant Professor of Religion, Johnson C. Smith University

10:00 am Mr. Chad Lassiter, Executive Director Pennsylvania Human Relations Commission & JCSU SSW Alumni

**Greetings from Johnson C. Smith University** 

Dr. Helen Caldwell, Host Dean, School of Social Work Dr. Davida Haywood, Vice President for Student Affairs Dr. Karen Morgan, Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

10:45 am Mr. Edolphus Towns, Former U.S. House of Representative Congressman &

Co-Sponsor of The Dorothy I. Height & Whitney M. Young, Jr., Social Work Reinvestment Act

Beverly Smith, National President of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. 11:00 am

In Memory of Social Work Pioneer, Soror Dr. Dorothy I. Height



To Donate To: The Dr. Dorothy I. Height Social Work Scholarship Fund at Johnson C. Smith University

**TEXT**: *height21* to 704.452.4207 **TO GIVE** 

11:15 am Dr. Jenny Jones, Dean, Whitney M. Young, Jr., School of Social Work Clark Atlanta University

11:30 am Dr. Darla Spence Coffey, President & CEO, Council on Social Work Education

11:40 am **Break** 

12:00 pm

11:50 am Dr. Cindy Kistenberg, Professor of Communications & Theatre & Johnson C. Smith University

**Charlotte Racial Justice Consortium** 

Mr. Kenneth Hagler, Johnson C. Smith University **Charlotte Racial Justice Consortium Student Fellow** 

Congressional Research Institute For Social Work and Policy (CRISP)

"Social Workers Can Help Save Our Democracy"

12:45 pm Dr. Mildred "Mit' Joyner, President of National Association of Social Workers, NASW

Dr. Charles E. Lewis, Jr., KEYNOTE SPEAKER, Founder & Director

1:00 pm Dr. Angela Henderson, Social Justice Social Work Warrior,

CEO, Congressional Social Work Caucus RoundTable, 1st BSW Congressional Field Supervisor

1:15 pm Dr. Catherine Gayle, President. Association of the Baccalaureate Social Work Program Directors (BPD)

Chair of the Department of Social Work at Savannah State University

1:30 pm Dr. Sandra Edmond Crewe, Dean, Howard University School of Social Work

Dr. Jerome Schiele, Chair, PhD Program, School of Social Work, Morgan State University 1:45 pm

2:00 pm The U.S. House of Representative, The Honorable Congresswoman Dr. Alma Adams (NC) (Letter)

Dr. Gary Bailey, Assistant Dean for Community Engagement and Social Justice at the College of Social Science, 2:15 pm

Policy and Practice at Simmons University, Boston

'This is Not the Time to be Silent"

2:30 pm Dr. Kristie Holmes, United Nations Women — USA Board of Directors

2:45 pm **Break** 

3:00 pm Dr. Martell Teasley, President, National Association of Deans, & Directors of Social Work (NADD)

Dean, College of Social Work, University of Utah

3:30 pm Melissa Smith Haley, President, National Association of Black Social Workers (NABSW)

3:45 pm Dr. Schnavia Smith Hatcher, Director/Professor, School of Social Work, University of North Carolina Charlotte

4:00 pm Dr. Isiah Marshall, Associate Dean and Associate Professor Jackson State University College of Health Sciences

**School of Social Work** 

Dr. Melita Mitchell, Interim Dean of the Metropolitan College of Professional Studies 4:15 pm

Johnson C. Smith University

**Student Recognitions and Awards** 4:30 pm

4:45 pm **Closing Remarks**